Coping with Depression

I have never really talked about my depression mostly because I think that it is not that bad. The spike in suicide wancarnival-of-positive-thinking.jpgts me to start talking about it a little more openly so others know that they’re not alone.

I started taking antidepressant medication when my dad died 14 years ago and I’ve been on them ever since. I have tried to wean off of them but every time I try, I always seem to get too angry so I jump back on them. I would love get off them completely, hopefully sooner rather than later.

My depression has never been to the point of wanting to hurt or kill myself. I hope that I never have to feel that kind of pain. Instead, I never really feel like doing anything. I lay in bed and sleep pretty much all day. I probably sleep 12-14 hours a day. I have read that depression will do that to you. I have really bad self-esteem because of the amount of weight I have gained in the past couple years which definitely does not help my willingness to go out with others. The lack of energy or motivation to go out and do things is really hard sometimes. It has got to the point that I worry that I may get blood clots in my legs from the lack of movement. I made an appointment with my doctor to talk about what can be done.

One of the biggest reasons I am making this move to China is because of my depression. I think if I change-up my scenery and daily routine, maybe it will help make me feel better. I think its going to be good for me!

I just want anyone with severe depression to know that help is always available to you. If you do not want to take medications, there are alternate routes. If you need anyone to talk to as a friend, I am always here.

Love,

Your Solo Adventurist

Leave a comment